top of page
Our Mission


The Marian Greenblatt Education Fund commemorates the efforts of Dr. Marian Greenblatt to improve education in Montgomery County. She was elected to the Montgomery County Board of Education from 1976 - 1984, and served as its President during 1978 - 1979. She worked to raise academic standards for students, eliminate frivolous courses, decrease class sizes, increase teacher budgets, and eliminate truancies.


The Fund was established on the passing of Dr. Greenblatt in 1988 and is managed by her family. Contributions to the Fund are tax-deductible, as the US Internal Revenue Service has designated it a 501c(3) organization.


The Marian Greenblatt Fund is supporting breast cancer research at Suburban and Sibley Hospitals, whose recent affiliation with Johns Hopkins University permits the Fund to play a small role in advancing the world-class efforts of the premier Medical School in the United States. 


The Fund is not currently accepting nominations for Montgomery County Teachers of the Year.  Click HERE to be redirected to the MCPS Techer of the Year Application website. 

Breast Cancer Research

The Fund is currently supporting breast cancer research led by Karen L. Smith, M.D., M.P.H., a medical oncologist specializing in breast cancer at the Johns Hopkins Kimmel Cancer Center at Sibley Memorial Hospital and assistant professor of oncology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.  Dr. Smith uses philanthropic funds to open new multi-site clinical trials at Sibley, to support the cancer research infrastructure through new equipment and technology, and to enhance the patient experience through Quality Improvement initiatives.  Quality Improvement initiatives include a multidisciplinary clinic for women living with metastatic disease, evaluating new strategies to enhance wellness in these patients, and a second multidisciplinary clinic for elderly women with early breast cancer.  Dr. Smith's research primarily focuses on patient-reported outcomes and reducing toxicities of cancer therapy.  She is interested in improving the lives of all patients facing breast cancer but has a special focus on those living with metastatic disease, those diagnosed at a young age, and those at risk for recurrence of hormone-receptor positive disease.  Dr. Smith and her team are participating in a wave of innovation to bring the best quality cancer care to our community. 

The Marian Greenblatt Fund is also proud to support the Oncology Nurse Navigator Program at Suburban Hospital.  Each year, Suburban Hospital treats more newly-diagnosed breast cancer patients than any other hospital in Montgomery County.  The hospital's Oncology Nurse Navigator Program provides complimentary resources to newly-diagnosed cancer patients and their families.  With the help of experienced and professionally trained oncology nurse navigators, patients can deal more easily with the many questions, decisions, and challenges that accompany a cancer diagnosis.  Specifically, nurse navigators assist with education and research related to diagnosis and/or treatment options, including clinical trials; translation of medical terminology; communication with physicians and other members of the healthcare team; obtaining referrals to community services for support groups; transportation, financial assistance, and providing emotional support.

Jones/Greenblatt Drone Scholarship

The Marian Greenblatt Fund helped establish the Jones/Greenblatt Drone Scholarship at Magruder High School in 2022. The first scholarships were awarded to Eli Schwartzman and Himanshu Gediya in a ceremony at the school’s Award Assembly on May 26, 2022. The scholarship was conceived by Mr. Wally Jones, an expert in Drone Technology at MITRE Corporation and son of the founders of the Jones Family/Plasma Fellows/Greenblatt World Language Scholarship, given for many years to students in MCPS. Magruder has a world-class aviation program, of which drone studies are a prominent part. 

Congratulations to our 2021 Award Recipients

Ms. Patricia Richards of Walter Johnson High School, Master Teacher

Mr. Joseph Bostic of Martin Luther King, Jr. Middle School, Master Teacher and MCPS Teacher of the Year

Ms. Sara Kopf of New Hampshire Estates Elementary School, Master Teacher

Ms. Lindsey Flint of Chevy Chase Elementary School, Rising-Star Teacher

Read more about our 2021 award recipients.

2021 High School Social Studies Award Recipients






















Giulia Munelli (Bethesda-Chevy Chase), Ethan S. Shoham (Blair), Theo Sodani (Blake), Queen Balina (Churchill), Tali Schlenoff (Clarksburg), Ameila Stammers (Damascus), Kendall Cox (Einstein), Yan Huang (Gaithersburg), Luis-Bill Perez (John F. Kennedy), Simone Kramer (Magruder), Emma Maxwell (Northwest), Leslie Njingang (Northwood), Saron Melaku (Paint Branch), Ziyan Ahmed (Poolesville), Emma Hinckley (Quince Orchard), Jonathan Nalikka (Richard Montgomery), Nia Newman (Rockville), Miriam Hernandez (Seneca Valley), Emma Bair (Sherwood), Isabella Ramirez (Springbrook), Nada Fadul (Walt Whitman), Ebony Lee (Walter Johnson), Parsanna Koirala (Watkins Mill), Liana S. Vargas (Wheaton), Dylan Safai (Wootton)

2019 World Language Scholarship

Past Winners

The Marian Greenblatt Education Fund has awarded outstanding teachers since 1989. Please see all our former winners here.

Latest News

NEW qualification criteria for MGEF nominees: at least six years of teaching experience in MCPS for Master Teachers, up to five years for Rising-Star Teachers

NBC4: New Montgomery County Teacher of the Year Crowned

Bethesda Magazine: ‘Fierce advocate’ for students named MCPS Teacher of the Year

Montgomery Community Media: Julius West Educator Wins Rising Star Teacher of the Year

The Bulletin:  Whitman Student Wins $1,000 World Languages Scholarship

MGEF congratulates Dr. Darryl Williams on his selection to be Superintendent of Baltimore County Schools

MGEF President honored by Montgomery County Board of Education

Washington Post: Three teachers named finalists for top honor in suburban Maryland​

MGEF President honored by Regional Manufacturing Institute

Support the Marian Greenblatt Education Fund by shopping on Amazon using this link. 

A portion of your purchase will be donated by Amazon to the Fund at no cost to you.

bottom of page