Our Mission


Recognize exceptional Master Teachers, Rising-Star Teachers, and Aspiring Teachers in Montgomery County, MD. Recognize outstanding students in Social Studies and Foreign Language Studies. Support the Education Community.


The Fund commemorates the efforts of Dr. Marian Greenblatt to improve education in Montgomery County. She was elected to the Montgomery County Board of Education from 1976 - 1984, and served as its President during 1978 - 1979. She worked to raise academic standards for students, eliminate frivolous courses, decrease class sizes, increase teacher budgets, and eliminate truancies.


The Fund was established on the passing of Dr. Greenblatt in 1988 and is managed by her family. Contributions to the Fund are tax-deductible, as the US Internal Revenue Service has designated it a 501c(3) organization.

Congratulations to our 2020 Award Recipients


Ms. Annie Moore of Farmland Elementary School, Master Teacher

Ms. Inge Chichester of Sligo Middle School, Master Teacher and 2020 Montgomery County Teacher of the Year

Mr. Rodney Van Tassell of Winston Churchill High School, Master Teacher

Ms. Susan Joanna Martinez-Mack of Julius West Middle School, Rising-Star Teacher

Read more about our 2020 award recipients.

Video of 2020 virtual Champions for Children Teacher of the Year presentation

2020 Master Teacher Awardees
Ms. Annie Moore of Farmland Elementary School (2020 Master Teacher Awardee), Ms. Inge Chichester of Sligo Middle School (2020 Master Teacher Awardee), Mr. Rodney Van Tassell of Winston Churchill High School (2020 Master Teacher Awardee)
photo by Montgomery County Pubic Schools
Ms. Susan Joanna Martinez-Mack
Julius West Middle School
2020 MGEF Rising-Star Teacher
photo by Montgomery County Pubic Schools
Show More

2019 High School Social Studies Award Recipients


2019 World Language Scholarship

Ms. Hannah Donner
Walt Whitman HS
Dr. Marshal Greenblatt, 2019 World Language Scholarship recipient Hannah Donner, Dr. Walter Jones
Show More
Latest News

NEW qualification criteria for MGEF nominees: at least six years of teaching experience in MCPS for Master Teachers, up to five years for Rising-Star Teachers

NBC4: New Montgomery County Teacher of the Year Crowned

Bethesda Magazine: ‘Fierce advocate’ for students named MCPS Teacher of the Year

Montgomery Community Media: Julius West Educator Wins Rising Star Teacher of the Year

The Bulletin:  Whitman Student Wins $1,000 World Languages Scholarship

MGEF congratulates Dr. Darryl Williams on his selection to be Superintendent of Baltimore County Schools

MGEF President honored by Montgomery County Board of Education

Washington Post: Three teachers named finalists for top honor in suburban Maryland​

MGEF President honored by Regional Manufacturing Institute

Past Winners

The Marian Greenblatt Education Fund has been awarding outstanding teachers since 1989. Please see all our former winners here.

Support the Marian Greenblatt Education Fund by shopping on Amazon using this link. 

A portion of your purchase will be donated by Amazon to the Fund at no cost to you.

Marian Greenblatt Education Fund                                                   info@greenblatteducationfund.org


Kim Oliver, Mrs. Bush, Pres. Bush

Ms. Kim Oliver, MGEF awardee and National Teacher of the Year, at the White House with Mrs. Bush and President Bush, 2006