Marian Greenblatt Education Fund                                         


Our Mission


Recognize exceptional Master Teachers, Rising-Star Teachers, and Aspiring Teachers in Montgomery County, MD. Recognize outstanding students in Social Studies and Foreign Language Studies. Support the Education Community.


The Fund commemorates the efforts of Dr. Marian Greenblatt to improve education in Montgomery County. She was elected to the Montgomery County Board of Education from 1976 - 1984, and served as its President during 1978 - 1979. She worked to raise academic standards for students, eliminate frivolous courses, decrease class sizes, increase teacher budgets, and eliminate truancies.


The Fund was established on the passing of Dr. Greenblatt in 1988 and is managed by her family. Contributions to the Fund are tax-deductible, as the US Internal Revenue Service has designated it a 501c(3) organization.

Congratulations to our 2019 Award Recipients


Mr. Teak Bassett of Clarksburg High School, Master Teacher


Ms. Madeline Hanington of Hallie Wells Middle School, Master Teacher, and Montgomery County Teacher of the Year


Ms. Maura Backenstoe of Burning Tree Elementary School, Master Teacher


Mr. Brendan Kelly of Albert Einstein High School, Rising-Star Teacher


Ms. Virginia Pantella of Gaithersburg Middle School, Rising-Star Teacher

2019 Champions for Children Awards
Mr. Drew Geenblatt, Dr. Marshal Greenblatt, MGEF Master Teacher Awardee and MCPS Teacher of the Year Ms. Madeline Hanington, Mr. Mark Greenblatt, and Mr. Rob Greenblatt
Mr. Teak Bassett
Clarksburg HS
Ms. Judith Chinn (2012 MGEF awardee), Ms. Catherine Ulicny (2006 MGEF awardee), Mr. Teak Bassett (2019 MGEF awardee), Ms. Lori Martioski-Taylor (2008 MGEF awardee), Mr. Sean Kelly (2008 MGEF Rising-Star awardee)
Ms. Madeline Hanington
Hallie Wells MS
Dr. Barbara Woodward (Principal), Ms. Madeline Hanington (awardee), Mr. Robert Dahlin (2006 MGEF Awardee, 2006 Montgomery County Teacher of the Year)
Ms. Maura Backenstoe
Burning Tree ES
Ms. Sarah Backenstoe (daughter), Ms. Maura Backenstoe (awardee), Burnie T (mascot of Burning Tree ES), Dr. Marshal Greenblatt
Mr. Brendan Kelly
Albert Einstein HS
Mr. Sean Kelly (2008 MGEF Rising-Star awardee, brother of Brendan), Mr. Brendan Kelly (2019 Rising-Star awardee), Mrs. Susan Kelly (teacher at Clarksburg HS and mother of Sean and Brendan)
Ms. Virginia Pantella
Gaithersburg MS
Ms. Virginia Pantella (Rising-Star awardee), Mr. Sam Coleman (parent of two students in Ms. Pantella’s class)
2019 Champions for Children Awards
Mr. Scott Adison (left) of Fitzgerald Auto Mall, 2019 Teacher of the Year Ms. Madeline Hanington (center), and Dr. Marshal Greenblatt (left). As Teacher of the Year, Ms. Hanington received a one-year auto lease from Fitzgerald Auto Mall.
Show More

Read more about our 2019 Award Recipients.

VIDEO of 2019 MCPS Champions for Children and Teacher of the Year awards

2019 High School Social Studies Award Recipients

2019 World Language Scholarship

Ms. Hannah Donner
Walt Whitman HS
Dr. Marshal Greenblatt, 2019 World Language Scholarship recipient Hannah Donner, Dr. Walter Jones
Show More
Past Winners
Latest News

The Marian Greenblatt Education Fund has been awarding outstanding teachers since 1989. Please see all our former winners here.

The Bulletin:  Whitman Student Wins $1,000 World Languages Scholarship

MGEF congratulates Dr. Darryl Williams on his selection to be Superintendent of Baltimore County Schools

MGEF President honored by Montgomery County Board of Education

Bethesda Magazine: English Instructor Named Montgomery Teacher of the Year​

Washington Post: Three teachers named finalists for top honor in suburban Maryland​

Award Levels Doubled for Master Teachers and Rising-Star Teachers

MGEF President honored by Regional Manufacturing Institute

Support the Marian Greenblatt Education Fund by shopping on Amazon using this link. 

A portion of your purchase will be donated by Amazon to the Fund at no cost to you.

Ms. Hannah Donner

Walt Whitman HS Dr. Marshal Greenblatt, 2019 World Language Scholarship recipient Hannah Donner, Dr. Walter Jones